Michael Scott, City Manager
City Manager Michael Scott began his career at the City of Waxahachie in May of 2002 as the Downtown Director and later assumed the position of Director of Planning.  He  served as the Assistant City Manager from January 2007 to October 2017, when he was appointed City Manager.

Michael is a graduate of the University of Kansas with a Bachelors Degree in Political Science.  He went on to receive his Masters in Public Administration from the University of North Texas.  Before coming to the City of Waxahachie, Michael worked in the private sector as a consultant with Deloitte & Touche. 

He and his wife Karen have two sons, Jonathan and Ian.

Albert Lawrence, Assistant City Manager
Assistant City Manager Albert Lawrence joined the City of Waxahachie in March of 2018. He has over 15 years municipal experience including the cities of Grand Prairie, Irving, Garland and Red Oak, with extensive experience in Public Works and Water and Wastewater. Most recently, he served as Assistant City Manager in Red Oak. 

Albert is a graduate of Texas A&M University, holding a B.S. in Bioenvironmental Science, and a Master of Public Administration from the University of North Texas. He served 8 years in the U.S. Army. 

Albert recently completed the Certified Public Manager Course with Texas State University. He is a member of the Texas City Management Association. 

Albert and his wife Kim have three dogs. 

Lori Cartwright, City Secretary
City Secretary Lori Cartwright has been with the City of Waxahachie since April 1999.  She became City Secretary in October 2007.  Previously, she was Court Administrator in the Waxahachie Municipal Court from 2004-2007 and Court Clerk from 1999 to 2004.  She has also worked for the City of Burleson in the Finance Department.

Lori is a member of the Texas Municipal Clerks Association (TMCA). Yellow Rose Chapter of TMCA, and International Institute of Municipal Clerks.  She received her designation as a Texas Registered Municipal Clerk (TRMC) in 2015.

She also serves on the Ellis County Emergency Food and Shelter Committee and the North Central Texas Housing Finance Corporation Committee.