City Council

On April 6, 1971, Waxahachie became a home-rule city. In Texas, any city with a population of 5,000 or more may become a home-rule city by establishing its own charter and submitting to voters for approval. There are over 300 home-rule cities in Texas. Although each of these has their own charter, home-rule cities are subject to certain state and federal laws.

The Waxahachie City Council is a five-member body that is elected at-large by the citizens. The Council Members serve staggered two-year terms. Each May, the Council appoints the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem.

Meetings occur bi-monthly on the first and third Mondays at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at 401 S. Rogers.

Mail for the Mayor and City Council can be addressed to P.O. Box 757, Waxahachie, TX 75168.

Member/Term Expiration
David Hill, Mayor (05/2022)
Mary Lou Shipley, Mayor Pro Tem (05/2021)
Chuck Beatty, Council Member (05/2021)
Melissa Olson, Council Member (05/2022)
Doug Barnes, Council Member (05/2022)

Click here for Agendas, Minutes, & Videos.