Cost of Doing Business

Cost of Doing Business
 Property Tax Rate (per $100 assessed value as of 10/01/2022)
 Ellis County 0.295867
 Waxahachie City 0.630000
 Waxahachie ISD 1.326800

Sales and Use Tax Rate
City of Waxahachie
Community Development Corporation (Type B)     
State of Texas


Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT Tax)
State    6%
City of Waxahachie   7%


State of Texas Unemployment Tax
     The Unemployment Tax program collects wage information and unemployment taxes from employers subject to the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act (TUCA). The taxes support the state’s Unemployment Compensation Fund, a reserve from which unemployment benefits are paid to eligible workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own. Unemployment taxes are not deducted from employee wages

     Liable employers must register with TWC to create a tax account and in each calendar quarter, report wages paid to employees and pay taxes due. For state unemployment tax purposes, only the first $9,000 paid to an employee by an employer during a calendar year constitutes "taxable wages." Quarterly wage reports and taxes must be filed and paid by the last day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter. For detailed information see Reporting & Determining Taxable Wages, Employer’s Quarterly Wage Report Filing Options and Payment Options for Unemployment Tax.

State of Texas Franchise Tax

     The Texas franchise tax is a privilege tax imposed on each taxable entity formed or organized in Texas or doing business in Texas. For a complete list of entities subject to this tax along with the rates, thresholds and deduction limits visit the State Comptroller's Franchise Tax Overview.

Franchise Tax Rate

0.375% - 0.75%

  State Income Tax

     The Texas Constitution of 1876 does not provide for personal income tax unless the [income tax] law is approved by a majority of the registered voters.