Firemen's Relief and Retirement Fund

Firemen's Relief and Retirement Fund

The purpose of the Firemen's Retirement Fund Board is to ensure that funds are properly dispersed to retired firefighters. The Fund's governance is provided by state statute under Vernon's Civil Statutes Article 6243e, also known as the Texas Local Fire Fighter Retirement Act (TLFFRA) and by the Texas Government Code. The statue provides that a local Board of Trustees administer and see-after the operations of the Fund. The Board was established in 1941 and is made up of seven (7) members:

  • The Mayor or Chief Executive Officer of the City or his delegate
  • The Chief Financial Officer of the City or his delegate
  • Two civilians who reside in the state of Texas who are appointed by the Board
  • Three active fire fighters elected by the fire fighter members of the Fund
Member/Term Expiration

Gary Myers, Chairman (01/2023) (3 year term)
Matt Dorsey, Vice Chairman (01/2024) (3 year term)
Scott Safford, Secretary (01/2025) (3 year term)
Lee Statham (01/2022) (2 year term)
Phillip Young (01/2023) (2 year term)
Chad Tustison, City of Waxahachie Finance Director
Chris Wright, Council Representative

Click here for Agendas & Minutes.

2022 Audit Report  
2022 Actuarial Valuation 
2023 Annual Report 
2023 Plan Document 
Qualified Domestic Relations Order