City Council

City Council
On April 6, 1971, Waxahachie became a home-rule city. In Texas, any city with a population of 5,000 or more may become a home-rule city by establishing its own charter and submitting to voters for approval. There are over 300 home-rule cities in Texas. Although each of these has their own charter, home-rule cities are subject to certain state and federal laws.

The Waxahachie City Council is a five-member body that is elected at-large by the citizens. The Council Members serve staggered two-year terms. Each May, the Council appoints the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem.

Meetings occur bi-monthly on the first and third Mondays at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at 401 S. Rogers.

Mail for the Mayor and City Council can be addressed to P.O. Box 757, Waxahachie, TX 75168.
The city also has sixteen boards and commissions that are staffed by citizens and appointed by City Council. The City Council also appoints the City Manager, City Secretary, City Attorney and Municipal Court Judge.

Council Members:

Doug Barnes
Doug Barnes, Mayor (Place 2)
Term Expires: 05/2022

Billie Wallace, Mayor Pro Tem (Place 4)
Term Expires: 05/2023

David Hill, Council Member (Place 1)
Term Expires: 05/2022

Chris Wright, Council Member (Place 3) 
Term Expires: 05/2024
DSC_2555 Travis Smith, Council Member (Place 5)
Term Expires: 05/2023