(February 5, 2024)- It was a night to remember for many Waxahachie Police officers, staff, and their families who attended the Waxahachie Police Department Annual Awards Banquet held on Friday, February 2, at the Waxahachie Civic Center. Just under 40 award recipients, including officers, City staff, and community members, were recognized. Award categories ranged from Certificate of Merit to the Lifesaving Award to Civilian of the Year.

Chief Joe Wiser welcomed the crowd of over 200 attendees. “The Awards Banquet is one of the most enjoyable nights of the year for me. It is an honor to recognize the outstanding public servants I have the privilege to work with daily,” stated Chief Wiser.

The City of Waxahachie would like to congratulate each of the 2023 award recipients. “It is officers, staff, and community members like these who make our community a wonderful place to live,” said City Manager Michael Scott. I am extremely proud of our police force and am thankful that they take time out to show appreciation for those who go above and beyond the call of duty.

The top honors went to Austin Stracener for Officer of the Year, Sgt. Abe Partington for Supervisor of the Year, Kaitlyn Shimel for Dispatcher of the Year, and Guadalupe Martinez for Civilian of the Year.

 Austin Stracener Officer of the Year
(Left to right) Asst. Chief Marcus Brown, Officer of the Year Austin Stracener, Asst. Chief Mike Lewis, Chief of Police Joe Wiser

 Abe Partington Supervisor of the Year
Asst. Chief Marcus Brown, Supervisor of the Year Sgt. Abe Partington, Asst. Chief Mike Lewis, Chief of Police Joe Wiser

Kaitlyn Shimel Dispatcher of the Year
Asst. Chief Marcus Brown, Dispatcher of the Year Kaitlyn Shimel, Asst. Chief Mike Lewis, Dispatch Supervisor Lindsey Sims, Chief of Police Joe Wiser

2023 Waxahachie Police Department Award Recipients Selected by their peers, the WPD Annual Awards are presented to the individuals who reflect the highest standards of conduct for a law enforcement officer or support staff in their prospective positions.

Officer of the Year
Officer Austin Stracener

Supervisor of the Year
Sergeant Abe Partington

Dispatcher of the Year
Kaitlyn Shimel

Civilian of the Year
Guadalupe Martinez

The Certificate of Merit Award is presented to officers for their outstanding performance in their duties as a police officer reflect the highest standards of conduct in law enforcement. 
Officer Kevin Patterson
Officer Rylie Fenton
Corporal Meagan Gonzales
Sergeant Corey Kaelin
Officer Elizabeth Glidewell
Detective Austin Starkey
Corporal Connor Stevenson
Officer Tyler Moura

Police Commendation Award, presented to officers for their outstanding performance in their duties as a police officer reflect the highest standards of conduct in law enforcement.
Officer Johnathon Reynolds
Officer Jacorey Jefferson
Corporal Aarron Brasher
Sergeant Dustin Koch
Detective Andy Smith
Danny Knight

The Meritorious Conduct Award is presented to officers for their outstanding meritorious achievement or service demonstrated through superior performance of duty under clearly hazardous and complicated conditions, or when the service delivered clearly contributed to a high degree of success in a difficult or complicated project or task by an individual.
Corporal Meagan Gonzales
Detective Drew Pickens
Officer Kevin Patterson
Officer Curtis Farmer

Lifesaving Award is presented to the officer(s) whose outstanding actions and performance had an impact in saving a person’s life.
Corporal Meagan Gonzales
Sergeant Abe Partington
Officer Greg Brister
Officer Bryce Ippolito
Officer Clay Sibley
Daniel Heiskell

Citizen Award is presented to a Waxahachie citizen who has gone above and beyond in supporting the Waxahachie community and has been an invaluable community partner of the Waxahachie Police Department.
Abe Vela
Deborah and Scott Green
Heather Federwisch

Three of the annual awards honor Waxahachie officers, John Spalding, Jeff Springer, and Josh Williams, who gave their lives in the performance of their duties. Selected by the Chief of Police and his Command staff, these awards recognize individuals in specific areas of performance or achievement.

The John Spaulding Award is presented to the officer who has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to physical fitness.                                              
Detective Austin Starkey

The Jeffery Springer Award is conferred to one officer who has made a significant contribution toward officer tactics, shooting, or survival.
Sergeant Dustin Koch

The Josh Williams Award is awarded to the WPD employee who contributes the most toward the arrests and/or prosecution of intoxicated drivers.
Corporal Connor Stevenson
Officer Christian Garcia

City Employee Recognition is a change to highlight City employees, outside of the Waxahachie Police Department, who exemplify the values of the values of the Waxahachie Police Department H.E.A.R.T (Honor, Ethics, Accountability, Respect, & Transparency).
Donna Insixiengmay, Assistant Emergency Management Coordinator
Sarah Licitra, Human Resources Generalist, HR Department
Gail Turner, Assistance Director, Finance Department
Nathan Hoggatt, Electrician, Building Services Department

The success of the annual Awards Banquet is due, in part, to the many businesses and supporters of the Waxahachie Police Department. WPD would like to thank the following businesses for providing door prizes and other support for this event:  Pearman Oil and LP Gas
The Dove’s Nest
Pet Supplies Plus
Hachie Nutrition
Spa Face and Body
Celebrity Café
G-5 Farms, Thomas Griffith
Jordon E’s
Jennifer Bryant, Baker
Dallas Suites and Inn
Nothing Bundt Cakes
Burleson’s Honey
Rodriguez Pottery
Meat Church
Oil Bar Soapery
Farm Luck
Tru Love Salon
Panza’s Tapping Italy
Fifteen Waxahachie
Kicks Rocks Cowboy Boutique
Queen Jean Candle
That Gibson
Ann’s Healthfood
Fish City Grill
Officer JT Taylor
Tropical Smoothie
Wirth Collectables
Boyce Feed and Grain
Eubank Florist
Art and Pour
The Shop
Olivia Jade
Evo Movie Theater
Lindy Beaty
Gran’s Antiques
Star City Tactical